Help Build a community of readers

Visiting Writers Series

Many communities have arts festivals or even more specifically literary festivals, but very few have literary arts series.

Since 1988, Lenoir-Rhyne University’s Visiting Writers Series (VWS) has provided outstanding literary arts programming that is free and open to the public.

Every year, VWS invites authors to tell the stories behind their own works in a relaxed environment before university and community audiences. We believe the beauty and power of words help us make sense of the world.

The Visiting Writers Series works to build a community of readers because we believe that a community that reads is a more creative, open and tolerant community. The series is particularly committed to collaborating with local and regional arts and civic organizations as well as non-profits that serve our diverse communities.

We need to be reminded, by reading and hearing a variety of accents and stories, that our African-American, Latino and Asian neighbors among others are members of cultures with rich artistic traditions and important experiences to share.

Join & Support Us

We hope that you will join the hundreds of other supporters to continue to bring world-class writers to our community by becoming a patron of the series. Patrons at the $500+ level are invited to all VIP receptions throughout the year as well as being invited to special series events.

You may make a donation online or call us at 828.328.7321. Please consider designating your contribution to the Visiting Writers Series Endowment Fund.

Support the Visiting Writers Series

2021-2022 Series


News & Events

The university has welcomed celebrated authors, poets, editors and more to campus in order to present their distinguished work to students, faculty and staff.

View More

Lenoir-Rhyne University is grieving the loss of one of our student-athletes. Omari Alexander, a 19-year-old sophomore from Concord, North Carolina and member of the LR football team, was killed overnight on November 20 in an off-campus incident in Hickory.

View More