Board of Trustees

The governing body of Lenoir-Rhyne University, the board of trustees, is responsible for upholding the mission and vision of the university.

A group of people stand outside of a building on a sunny day


Madeleine Dassow '75, Chair
Boyd Wilson '74, Vice Chair
Katherine Esch '70, Secretary
Janie Peak '73, Assistant Secretary
Jearld Leonhardt '69, Treasurer


Dr. Edward (Eddie) L. Beard, Jr. ’85
Hickory, NC
President and CEO, Catawba Valley Medical Center

The Rev. Mark Bernthal LTSS ’86
Vero Beach, FL
ELCA Pastor, Our Savior Lutheran Church

Perrell D. Bess, '06 JD '16
Weddington, NC
Vice President of Compliance and Operational Risk, Bank of America

Dr. Steven (Steve) R. Carter ’74
Pinehurst, NC
Anesthesiologist (retired)

The Rev. Dr. Eric Childers
Charleston, SC
Senior Pastor, St. Matthew’s Lutheran Church

The Rev. Dr. Rachel L. Connelly LTSS ’90
Walhalla, SC
ELCA Pastor, St. John’s Lutheran

Madeleine S. Dassow ’75
Greensboro, NC
Businesswoman/Former Teacher

Marvin S. (Eddie) Edwards, Jr.
Hickory, NC
President & CEO, CommScope, Inc.

Katherine B. (Kate) Esch ’70
Hickory, NC
Civic Leader

The Rev. G. Scott Homesley ’83
Abingdon VA
ELCA Pastor, St. John Lutheran Church

Margaret Jackson ’69
Newton, NC
Business Owner (retired)

Gabrielle Kelly ’01
Charlotte, NC
Executive Search Consultant, Coleman Lew Canny Bowen

Dewyone (Pedie) King ’96
Hickory, NC
King Suzuki of Hickory

Dr. Leslie Lambert
Roanoke, VA

Jearld L. Leonhardt ’69
Newton, NC
Retired EVP and CFO of CommScope, Inc.

Hansel (Hank) McCrorie ’60
Hickory, NC
McCrorie Family Vineyards, LLC

Joseph P. (Joe) McGuire
Asheville, NC
President, McGuire Wood and Bissette P.A.

Katherine F. McKenzie ’69
Wilmington, NC
Executive VP and Chief HR Officer, Citizens Financial Group (retired)

The Rev. J. Stephen Misenheimer ’76 LTSS ’82
Knoxville, TN
Retired Lutheran Pastor

Isaiah (Ike) F. Oglesby ’91
Greensboro, NC
Broker/Owner, Oglesby Realty

Corie Pauling
Davidson, NC
Senior Vice President, Chief Diversity Officer, TIAA

Janie Parks Peak ’73
Gastonia, NC
Retired High School Teacher, LR Education Department

Chris Peek
Gastonia, NC
President and CEO CaroMont Health

The Rev. Dr. Timothy M. (Tim) Smith
Salisbury, NC
Bishop, NC ELCA Synod

Michael Thomas, JD
Hickory, NC
Partner: Patrick, Harper, Dixon

The Rev. Christopher D. Webb ’93 LTSS ’97
Hickory, NC
Senior Pastor, Holy Trinity Lutheran Church

Dr. Fred K. Whitt
Hickory, NC
President, Lenoir-Rhyne University

Boyd Wilson, Jr. ’74
Hudson, NC
Executive VP, Broyhill Investments, Inc.

Ex Officio Membership

Dr. Fred Whitt, Lenoir-Rhyne University President
The Rev. Dr. Timothy M. Smith Bishop, NC Synod, ELCA
The Rev. Richard Goeres, Interim Chair, LTSS Advisory Council

News & Events

Celebrate all things LR with a weekend packed with reunions, tailgates, parades, get-togethers and more.

View More

LR's 2022 "Bears Give Back" video has been recognized among the best media in educational advancement in the CASE 2023 Circle of Excellence.

View More