Concert Series

Established in fall 2000, the Concert Series at Lenoir-Rhyne serves the university community and the greater Hickory area by providing opportunities to hear and interact with superb musical artists. The Concert Series brings musical artists to the university to present concerts and recitals, work with students in a master class setting, lecture to music classes and provide examples of professional artistry in music.

For more information on supporting the Concert Series or if you are an artist wishing to be considered for an appearance, please contact Chris Nigrelli, professor of music, at or 828.328.7150.

Upcoming Events

  • Past Concert Series Artists


    • John Cheek
    • Joshua Espinoza Trio
    • Naomi Niskala
    • KAIA String Quartet


    • Tatiana Gorbunova
    • Ensemble Nobiles
    • Adrian N. Smith and Gregory Knight
    • Tesla String Quartet
    • Michael Burritt


    • Dom Flemons
    • LR Faculty All Stars
    • Unifour Brass Ensemble
    • Stefan Kiessling Organ Recital
    • Tesla Quartet and Friends
    • United States Navy Commodores
    • Lenoir Sax
    • Kontras Quartet
    • ALETHIA, Abbie Conant, and William Osborn


    • "President's Own", U.S. Marine Band
    • LR Faculty All Stars
    • Bach Vespers
    • Evening of French Songs
    • Music for One Piano, Four Hands
    • Piedmont Triad Jazz Orchestra
    • Tesla String Quartet
    • Thomas Burge, Trombone


    • Magnificent New Organ
    • U.S. Army Field Band and Soldier's Chorus
    • Hallowe'en Plugged In
    • New Chapel, New Piano
    • One of a Kind
    • Lenoir Saxophone Ensemble
    • Kruger Brothers and Kontras Quartet
    • Trios Old and New


    • Jon Irabagon Jazz Trio
    • Harlem String Quartet
    • The United States Navy Band
    • Adam Holzman, classical guitarist


    • William Duckworth's Time Curve Preludes for Piano
    • United States Navy Jazz Commodores
    • Harlem String Quartet
    • Valerie Capers and Friends, jazz piano


    • American Brass Quintet
    • Danielle Talamantes, soprano
    • William Chapman Nyaho, piano
    • John Wojciechowski Quartet