Recognizing Leaders

Year-end awards recognize impact makers on campus

Lenoir-Rhyne University does its best to make sure every student has a great experience.

As the academic year comes to an end, the university recognizes some of the students, faculty and staff who helped make this year another one to remember through the annual year-end awards.

The ceremony took place April 28; however, due to COVID-19 protocols, attendance was limited.

Student Government Association Award

Emma Sellers, Director of Multicultural Affairs

The SGA Executive Cabinet gives this award to the person who has made a significant contribution to the well-being of the student body.

Student Government Association President's Award

Chandler Smith

The SGA President presents this award to the person who has provided considerable help in strengthening the university community.

Recognition of SGA Officers

TBD, President; Mita Sudhakar, Vice President; Maggie Lou Alice Carter, Secretary; Diego Sanjuan, Treasurer; Micah McRea, Chief Justice

Class Presidents

Jordan Cruce, Senior Class; Samuel Fisher, Junior Class; Bethany Perry, Sophomore Class; TBD, Freshman Class

Outstanding Student Organization Advisor

Richard Gould, advisor for the "LR News" campus newspaper

Presented annually, this award is given to the student organization advisor who unselfishly gives of his/her time and talents to develop, strengthen and maintain a recognized student organization.

The Dean's Award

Olivia Thorn

Presented by the Office of the Dean of Students to a student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership, dedication and selflessness in working toward the betterment of student life at the university.

Michael F. Riley Emerging Leader Award

Mita Sudhakar

The Michael F. Riley Emerging Leader Award is presented annually to the sophomore student who has worked diligently without public recognition for the betterment of the campus community through service and involvement. The recipient must have displayed interest and worked in an extracurricular activity, shown leadership potential for service in the world and be judged as an all-around "kind and giving" person. This person has demonstrated strength of character, integrity, spirit, and true leadership potential. Selected and presented by the Office of Student Life, this award honors Dr. Michael F. Riley, former associate dean of students and director of counseling services, who gave 20 years of service to the students at Lenoir-Rhyne University.

Jerry Shaw Excellence in Programming Award

Hannah Griffin and Sarah Johnson

The Jerry Shaw Programming Award is given to the person of the Lenoir-Rhyne community who has exemplified compassion and excellence in student programming.

Brandon Lee Killingsworth Award

Olivia Baker and Katie Woosley

The Brandon Lee Killingsworth Award recognizes the student who best exemplifies Brandon's enthusiasm, selflessness and passion for Lenoir-Rhyne in fulfilling the mission of the Office of Admission and Financial Aid.

Freshman Medal

Lili Massoud

Given by the T. P. Pruitt family of Hickory, North Carolina, in memory of their parents, the medal is awarded each year to the freshman who is considered to be the most outstanding representative of the class in scholarship, participation in college activities, in strength of character and in general conduct and attitude.

Distinguished Scholar Award

Chase Griffin and Drew Royster

The distinguished scholar is a member of the Honors Academy who has achieved academically, while contributing meaningfully to both the campus and the community. The distinguished scholar is an excellent all-around student both in and out of the classroom.

Honors Thesis Award

An honors thesis competition was held this spring. The theses were judged on the following criteria: overall quality of scholarship, clarity of presentation and student's depth of understanding of the work.

  • First Place: Jefferson Norwood
  • Second Place: Kelsey Krumanocker
  • Third Place: Spencer Welland

Engaged Scholars 2021 Graduating Seniors

Hanna Beasley, Adie Bjerkness, Victoria Blake, Brianna Bumgarner, Kanan Butler, Landra Mohler, Abagail Obran, Yakita Rodriguez, Caroline Sweeter, Makayla Ward and Katie Woosley

Teaching Scholars 2021 Graduating Seniors

Cassie Barker, Sierra Bost, Anita Brown, Adam Gast, Megan Shackelford and Kamie Souther

Adjunct Faculty Teaching and Service Award

Hannah Highsmith, English

The Adjunct Faculty Teaching and Service Award recognizes and encourages outstanding part-time faculty teaching and service to the university. The award is presented to the adjunct faculty member who has demonstrated sustained excellence in teaching and who has provided exemplary service to the university. The successful candidate for this award will have demonstrated support for the mission and values of Lenoir-Rhyne University, especially commitment to the development of students as whole persons, and an emphasis through teaching and service on excellence, integrity, care and curiosity.

Roediger Distinguished Professorship

Dr. Mindy Makant, Religion

Endowed through a bequest of Annie Glass Roediger, a member of Augsburg Lutheran Church, Winston-Salem, North Carolina. The professorship is designated annually by the president in recognition of distinguished service to the university.

Faculty Scholar Award

Dr. Jeffrey Delbert, Communications

This award, which recognizes and encourages outstanding faculty scholarship, is presented to the faculty member who has made the greatest contribution to his or her discipline in the spirit of academic inquiry during the academic year. The recipient of this award will have, through writing, speaking, recording or publicly performing, brought recognition to Lenoir-Rhyne College as a community of the intellect.

Raymond Morris Bost Distinguished Professor Award

Dr. Daniel Grimm, Biology

Made possible through the generosity of Burlington Industries, Inc., and members of the Lenoir-Rhyne Faculty, this annual award, honoring the former president and academic dean of the university, is designed to recognize and encourage outstanding teaching.

Lenoir-Rhyne University is grieving the loss of one of our student-athletes. Omari Alexander, a 19-year-old sophomore from Concord, North Carolina and member of the LR football team, was killed overnight on November 20 in an off-campus incident in Hickory.

View More

Lenoir-Rhyne University will receive $4.3 million as part of the North Carolina state budget that was signed into law on November 18.

View More