logo and main navigation container

LR's Visiting Writers Series presents Zadie Smith and Nick Laird
LR's Visiting Writers Series presents Zadie Smith and Nick Laird

Lenoir-Rhyne University's Visiting Writers Series will present Zadie Smith and Nick Laird on Thursday, March 22, from 7 to 8 p.m. in P.E. Monroe Auditorium.

Smith was born in London and is the author of seven novels. Her most recent book, "Swing Time," was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction. Her novel "NW" was one of the New York Times Book Review's 10 Best Books of 2012. An excerpt from "NW," "The Embassy of Cambodia," was awarded a 2014 American Society of Magazine Editors National Magazine Award for Fiction. In 2002, she was elected a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. Smith has also edited the anthology, "Piece of Flesh" and contributed writing to The New Yorker.

Laird is a former lawyer turned full-time author who currently teaches at Columbia University. He has received many awards, including the Rooney Prize for Irish Literature, the Ireland Chair of Poetry Award, and the Betty Trask Prize. Laird is the author of five books and poetry collections, including "To a Fault," which won the Jerwood Aldeburgh First Collection Prize.

The series will continue with the following authors:

April 14, 2018

Robert Beatty

P.E. Monroe Auditorium, 12 – 1 p.m.

April 19, 2018

Terry Gifford

Belk Centrum, 7 – 8 p.m.

The VWS has provided outstanding literary arts programming that is free and open to the public for the past 29 years. Each year, the VWS invites authors to tell the stories behind their own works in a relaxed environment before an audience filled with campus and community members. The Writers Series' mission is to build a community of readers, because it believes a community that reads is a more creative, open, and tolerant community. The VWS believes the beauty and power of words help people make sense of the world. Children's writers, mystery writers, essayists, poets, and novelists all participate in this celebration of the written and spoken word.