LRU News

LRU recognizes faculty and staff

Fri May 1 2009

Lenoir-Rhyne University recognized faculty and staff members during the final convocation of the year.

Dr. Katherine Pasour, dean of the College of Health Sciences, received the Roediger Distinguished  Professorship. This award is presented annually by the university’s president to recognize distinguished service to Lenoir-Rhyne.

Dr. Antonio Santo, program coordinator and assistant professor of exercise science, received the Faculty Scholar Award. This award is presented to the faculty member who has made the greatest contribution to his or her discipline in the spirit of academic inquiry during the academic year.

Dr. Karen McDougal, professor of biology, received the Raymond Morris Bost Distinguished Professor Award. This award, given in honor of a former president of Lenoir-Rhyne, recognizes and encourages outstanding teaching. Students nominate their professors for this award.

Otis Pitts, director of facilities management, received the Jeff Norris Non-Teaching Employee of the Year Award. This award is presented to the staff member who displays expertise beyond competence in his or her field, is reliable in attendance, contributes to the stated college mission, goes beyond the call of duty in one’s work, contributes improvement ideas, places institutional good above individual or department good, displays a positive attitude, willingness to work, enthusiasm, flexibility, ability to adapt to change.

The following professors received promotions or tenure. Dr. Douglas Burkholder and Dr. Christopher Nigrelli were promoted to full professor. Dr. Bjarne Berg and Dr. Janet Painter were granted tenure and promoted to associate professor.

This year, the Lenoir-Rhyne yearbook, the Hacawa, was dedicated to two people. Those honored with the dedication were Dr. Karen Dill, professor of psychology, and George Ussery, a Dining Services employee.

The Student Government Association President’s Award went to Coach Todd Starkey, head women’s basketball coach. The SGA president presents this award to the person who has provided considerable help in strengthening the Lenoir-Rhyne community.

The Outstanding Student Organization Advisor Award was presented to Emma Sellers, advisor to the Black Student Alliance. This award is given to the student organization advisor who unselfishly gives of his/her time and talents to develop, strengthen and maintain a recognized student organization. This award is nominated by the organization.

Christine Maack, assistant director of student involvement and director of Price Village, received the Student Government Association Award. The SGA Executive Cabinet gives this award to the person who has made a significant contribution to the well-being of the student body.

Retiring faculty and staff members were also recognized. They include Becky Brinkley, interpreter for deaf and hard-of-hearing, 25 years; Judy Hagans, administrative assistant, 22 years; Thomas Huss, biology lab assistant in instruction, 43 years; Lynda Kirby, director of international studies, 25 years; and Dr. Augustin Quilici, professor of French, 34 years.

Posted by LRUNews under LRU News | No Comments

horizontal line

© 2012 Lenoir-Rhyne University