Campus Celebration of Academic Excellence

School of Arts and Letters

School of Humanities & Social Sciences

School of Natural Sciences

School of Counseling and Human Services

School of Education

School of Health, Exercise and Sport Science

School of Occupational Therapy

School of Journalism and Mass Communication

Donald & Helen Schort School of Mathematics and Computing Sciences

College of Health Sciences Grand Rounds Presentations

  • Lauren Delaney, Savanna Stewart, and Karmen Wilkerson

  • Ally Ferrera, Adrianna Kennedy, Myer Nolan, and Jimmy Long

  • Paula Manser

  • Iris Boney, Monica Jones, Betsy Krigbaum, and Parker Tate

  • Jessica Aron, Jessica Bailey, Derrick Brawley, Rachel Chapman, Whitley Culler, Jeremy Gregory, Amy Haughwout, Katie Henriques Fernandez, Amber Huffman, Erin Petruso, Megan Presley, Jennifer Sink, Daniel Smith, Anthony Sully, and Ashley White

College of Health Sciences Research Extravaganza

  • Allison Berman, Chassidy Campbell, Lauren Delaney, Laura Rhyne, Hayley Setzer, Samantha Simpson, Savanna Stewart, and Lauren Turnmyre 

  • Kassie Allen, Amber Arrington, Sarina Anderson, Tanya Bator, Grace Bernthal, Monica Eckard, Brittany Ellis, Miriam George, Chloe Greene, Ashley Hall, Ashley Harrell, Nicholas Hodge, Blair Jaynes, Nicole Kemerling, Chloe Lillard, Juanita Mabry, Jessica Martin, Allison McGehee, Sarah McKenna, Amanda Mitchell, Katie Nilo, Erin Plumley, Melissa Reynolds, Allie Rinehart, Kacy Spooner, Maggie Sullivan, Megan Terbrueggen, Kallie Wease, Suzy Wichlinski, and Jane Wiseman

Clinical Posters

  • Jessica Aron, Jessica Bailey, Iris Boney, Derrick Brawley, Rachel Chapman, Whitley Culler, Jeremy Gregory, Amy Haughwout, Katie Henriques Fernandez, Amber Huffman, Monica Jones, Betsy Krigbaum, Erin Petruso, Megan Presley, Jennifer Sink, Daniel Smith, Anthony Sully, Parker Tate and Ashley White

  • The SGA Executive Cabinet gives this award to the person who has made a significant contribution to the well-being of the Student Body.

  • The Student Government Leadership Award is made possible by an endowed scholarship fund established in 1987 by The Student Government Association.  The Award, in the form of a scholarship, is given to the rising Junior or Senior who is the newly elected SGA President.

  • The SGA President presents this award to the person who has provided considerable help in strengthening the College community.

  • Presented by the Office of the Dean of Students to a student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership, dedication and selflessness in working toward the betterment of student life at the College.

  • The Michael F. Riley Emerging Leader Award is presented annually to the sophomore student who has worked diligently without public recognition for the betterment of the campus community through service and involvement.  The recipient must have displayed interest and worked in an extracurricular activity, shown leadership potential for service in the world and be judged as an all around "kind and giving" person.  This person has demonstrated strength of character, integrity, spirit, and true leadership potential.  Selected and presented by the Office of Student Life, this award honors Dr. Michael F. Riley, former Associate Dean of Students and Director of Counseling Services, who gave twenty years of service to the students at Lenoir-Rhyne College.

  • The Jerry Shaw Programming Award is given to the person of the Lenoir-Rhyne community who has exemplified compassion and excellence in student programming.

  • The Brandon Lee Killingsworth Award recognizes the student who best exemplifies Brandon’s enthusiasm, selflessness and passion for Lenoir-Rhyne College in fulfilling the mission of the Office of Admissions and Financial Aid.

  • Given by the T. P. Pruitt family of Hickory, N.C., in memory of their parents, the medal is awarded each year to the Freshman who is considered to be the most outstanding representative of the class in scholarship, participation in college activities, in strength of character, and in general conduct and attitude.

  • The Deaf Awareness Award is given annually to an individual or group that has actively promoted an awareness of deafness on campus or in the Hickory community.  This award is presented by the Department of Support Services for Deaf/Hard-of-Hearing Students and sponsored by Clarence L. Pugh, Sr.

  • This award is presented to a rising senior who demonstrates outstanding leadership traits and involvement in campus life.  The Roueche family provides funding for this scholarship.

  • Campus Compact honors student leaders who are committed to solving problems of social justice and engaging fellow students.

  • The Distinguished Scholar is a member of the Honors Academy who has achieved academically, while contributing meaningfully to both the campus and the community.  The Distinguished Scholar is an excellent all-around student both in and out of the classroom.

  • The nursing debates provide an opportunity for the senior nursing students in their Leadership course to debate several relevant topics that affect nursing practice such as:

    All members of the nursing program class of 2014 participated in the debates.

  • Seniors in middle grades, secondary, and K-12 education programs presented Best Practices Symposium projects. The Best Practices Symposium is an LRU School of Education requirement for demonstrating proficiency on standards required for NC teaching licensure.

    Lakeisha Abernathy, Simone Anderson, Leigha Banner, Brooke Bolin, Prasila Castillo, Jared Clark, Kenneth Dockal, Anna Falls, William Farnsworth, Lindsay Guill, Rachel Hall, Michael Hedrick, Laura Hofeldt, Ashleigh Hudgins, Amber Longhi, Katie Lunsford (Owenby), Meredith Lutz, Melissa Maske (East), Anna Beth Miller, Caitlynn Miller, Morgan Mitchem, Taylor Oliver, Emily Pinnix, Quinn Scarvey, Mary Lyn Swanson, Charlene Taylor, Andrew Thomas, Crystal Tibbetts, Logan Waddell, Jesse Waycaster, and Samantha Williams

  • The annual research day is a day that is focused on Evidence Based Practice in Nursing.  In addition, several nursing honor students presented their individual research that was completed during the current spring semester.

    Lindsey Braswell, Melissa Soto, Lauren Turnmyre, Sara Williams, and Priscilla Yeboah

  • The LR Teaching Fellows select an area to research during their freshman and sophomore years. Each Teaching Fellow selects a faculty advisor to assist with the research over the course of their junior and senior years and presents his / her findings.

    Lakeisha Abernathy, Leigha Brower Banner, Brooke Bolin, Prasilla Castillo, Jared Clark, Melissa Maske East, Anna Falls, Katie Owenby Lunsford, Morgan Mitchem, Leah Phillips, Emily Pinnix, Quinn Scarvey, Geoffrey Swift, Crystal Tibbetts, Madison Turner, Ryan Waddell, Jessica Waycaster, and Samantha Williams

Take Charge
of Tomorrow
Apply Today